FAQ Windows Overview

Forgotten your password?

Not working (anymore)?

Antivirus settings?

Strange display of a website?

Webfilter does not work?

Settings only on the Internet?

Update notification in the portal?

Black screenshot?

Also for Windows-Admins?

Manage multiple PCs?

System time error notification?

How do I restrict Minecraft?

Add/delete users?

Is there domain support?

Reset Child Control?

Problems receiving email?



Not working (anymore)?

If the program no longer works properly and/or limits are not met, please proceed as follows:  1.) Make sure, all available Windows updates are installed correctly. Some customers reported, Child Control has stopped working due to an outstanding or running Windows update. 2.) Restart the child PC manually once.


Then check if the Child Control icon is available in the lower right corner of the taskbar. When you click on the icon, the current limits and the time that has elapsed should be displayed. The whole thing should then look something like this:



Check in the status windows picture whether the elapsed time and the displayed limits correspond to what you see in the Web Portal or what you have set. Check if the PC-Tag counter really counts up every minute. You should also check if the synchronization works correctly. You can find the date of the last sync directly on the child PC in the above info area under (left side) "Details" and then at the bottom of the screen. If the icon is not displayed in the taskbar (maybe you have hidden it intentionally) try the key combination SHIFT + CTRL + F6.


If no info window appears here either, you should download the parental control again from our homepage and install it over your existing version. You will always find the download on our download page. If all this does not help, you can reset the parental control once. For more information on resetting, see the chapter Reset Parental Control. Another cause for malfunctioning of the parental control could be an installed antivirus program. Please refer to the chapter Setting up antivirus.

 

Suspicion of manipulation? If you suspect that children are manipulating the program, you should ensure that the child user accounts do not have administrative rights before reinstalling the program. Also make sure that other admin users (e.g. you as a parent) have secured the Windows user account with a password.


Antivirus settings

If Child Control does not (no longer) work properly or synchronizations fail, this may well be due to the installed antivirus or security solution. Please keep in mind that both antivirus programs and our parental control automatically receive updates, i.e. it is quite possible that it will not work from one day to the next. Find below a list antivirus programs causing sometimes issues:

 

Bitdefender

Comodo

Eset/Nod32

G-DATA

Malware bytes

 

No problems are known to us (at present!) with the following programs: Avira, Avast, Kaspersky, McAffee

 

If your antivirus has blocked parts of Child Control, this should usually somehow appear in the reports of the antivirus program. Check such reports for the file names below. With most antivirus programs it is not only necessary to create a firewall rule for Child Control, but also to ensure that parental control is not mistakenly detected as malware or potential danger. You can usually achieve this by including the following files as exceptions in your antivirus program:

 

c:\windows\cc\ctlsysui.exe

c:\windows\cc\ctlsysmgr.exe

c:\windows\cc\winctlsvc.exe

 

No settings are necessary for Windows' own Antivirus Defender or the Windows Firewall. If there are already problems with an antivirus program during the installation of Child Control, a simple deactivation of the antivirus is normally not sufficient (drivers are still loaded). Many customers have solved this problem by uninstalling their antivirus, restarting the PC, installing the Child Control and then installing the antivirus program again. If you have set internet restrictions via a router, make sure that contact to the following servers is allowed: salfeld.net, sse.salfeld.net, portal.salfeld.net, sync.salfeld.net. The used ports are 80 (http) and 443 (https).

 

Tip: If you have made your settings and everything works correctly, set a password (if possible) in your firewall/internet security program. This prevents third parties from possibly resetting these settings. Restart your PC once after all changes.


Strange display of a website?

A website does not work properly when web filter is turned on in Child Control? If you use the whitelist mode, only pages that are explicitly listed under "Allowed" are allowed. However, it is possible (and this happens quite often) that the given website still does not work or is displayed correctly. This is due to the fact that many websites uses within their websites other domains (which might be blocked). Example: You, as parents, are the ones who release the children's site tivi.de. Nevertheless, the child cannot watch the videos there (only a strange error message appears). The reason is that the videos are located on the (other) domain zdf.de, which must be unlocked as well. If a page is not displayed correctly, the following procedure almost always helps:


Use Web Portal -> Usage Logs and check the period under History Blocked. Unlock all blocked entries there and try to call the website again. If it should not succeed despite these hints, contact us with indication of the unlocked domain ,we will be glad to help you!


Web filter does not work?

If Child Control's web filter does not work at all, this could be due to an installed antivirus program. If you are using another antivirus program than the (built-in) Microsoft Defender, you can find some initial information in the FAQ Antivirus settings.  Please also check the following requirements: Are the used browsers (e.g. chrome.exe, firefox.exe, microsoftedge.exe) registered under Web Portal -> Programs -> Internet group? The web filter is only applied to programs in the Internet group. If all this fits, please go to http://blocktest.salfeld.net in your browser to check the actual functioning of the web filter. Please also remember that Child Control only filters active connections. If a web page is already completely in the browser cache, it will not be checked again. In this case, delete the browser cache manually. If a keyword is not correctly filtered, please remember that this filter does not work on pages that you have explicitly entered under Web Filter -> Allowed. In rare cases, even pending Windows updates have caused the web filter to malfunction. Therefore, make sure that you are using the latest Windows version and restart the child PC once.


Settings only on the Internet?

You install Child Control once on the child's PC. A database is created directly on the PC and the limits you set (e.g. time limits or web filter) are monitored directly on the device. It is also possible to (temporarily) switch off Child Control as well as to set extensions (by password or TAN) directly on the respective child's PC without an Internet connection. All other settings can be made on the Internet in our Web Portal. The advantage for you is that you can access the settings from any location and any Internet device without disturbing the child on the child's PC. For us, this has the advantage that we can implement improvements much faster than before (we no longer have to adapt two different user interfaces).


The settings in the Web Portal synchronize with the settings directly on the child's PC at regular short intervals (<3 minutes). Both in the Web Portal (on the start page) and on the child PC (click on the icon, then on the left on Details) you can see the time of the last successful synchronization.


Update notification in Web Portal

Child Control is updated by us regularly, i.e. new versions are released several times a year. Here we correct errors or add new functions. It is important that the latest version is always installed on the children's PCs. Normally, you do not need to do anything else for this.



Child Control loads and installs current versions in the background. If the warning message is still displayed in the Web Portal, you can always install the current version from our homepage over your existing version. All data will be preserved. You can always find the download here: https://salfeld.com/en/download/


Black screenshot

If a black image appears instead of the screenshot, this may have the following reason: In this case a program on the child PC (e.g. video player or 3D game) directly addresses the graphics card and does not use Windows standard graphics routines. Under these conditions, Child Control unfortunately cannot take a screenshot (or only a black screen is displayed). You can disable graphics hardware acceleration in the Windows system settings (not recommended). Then you will get a screenshot, but videos and 3D games may be displayed very "jerky" or slowed down.


Also suitable for Windows Admins?

Yes, even for administrator accounts you can set various settings and restrictions in Child Control. Some restrictions also apply to admin accounts with Child Control installed: For example, it is not possible for administrative users to simply stop the software processes (not even with alternative task managers). Despite all these measures, the attack surface for manipulation is much higher for an admin account. We therefore recommend to use a standard Windows account and not to grant administrative rights to the child. Make sure that existing admin accounts are password protected in Windows.


Manage multiple PCs

You can control multiple PCs with one and the same Web Portal login. It is important that you have entered exactly the same data (user name and password) on all PCs. If you are running multiple PCs with Child Control and you want to manage them all online with the same user account, make sure that the same user name (email) is entered on each of the child PCs. A change of the user name is only possible by reinstalling and resetting the settings. Before this step, we recommend that you save any existing settings. See also Import and Export of Settings.


System time incorrect notification

Child Control depends on the date, time and time zone being set correctly on the child device. This is necessary to ensure that time limits function correctly and that lockout periods are observed. Manipulating the date is a popular trick for kids to circumvent the software. If Child Control detects a "wrong" system date or time, a corresponding warning message is displayed in the Web Portal. Even if 90% of changes to the date are due to the kids: bad batteries and defective hardware can also cause the system time to malfunction in individual cases.


 


On Windows PCs only administrative users can make changes to the system time. So if the child only has a standard account, you do not need to take any further protective measures. For children with admin user rights, you can prevent changes to the date and time via the Web Portal -> Security -> Windows Security -> No Date/Time Settings. Please keep in mind that an incorrect date can also be set in the BIOS of the PC. The BIOS is outside of Windows and the sphere of influence of any software - the only thing that helps here is to directly protect the BIOS with a password (which is possible in most cases). Keep in mind that an incorrect system time can lead to strange reports, possibly even in the future (if the date has been set). We recommend to reset the already counted times if the system date is wrong.

 

Important! The message is not automatically hidden, even if the date may be correct again. This way you can recognize a manipulation even later. If the date on the child device is correct, you can hide the message with the "x" in the upper right corner.


Restrict Minecraft

If you want to restrict Minecraft, simply add minecraft.exe with a time limit of your choice in the Program Filter section.  This time limit will be enforced whether Minecraft is played as a desktop application or within the browser. Due to Minecraft's special detection, in exceptional cases the game may start first (but will then end within 30 seconds).


Add/delete users to Child Control?

In the Windows version, the user management connects seamlessly to the Windows user accounts (both local and Microsoft accounts). You do not create any users in the Child Control itself. The program recognizes all user accounts installed on the Windows PC. When a new user account is added, it usually appears automatically in the Web Portal. If you want to explicitly add (or even delete) a user to the Web Portal, please proceed as follows: Download and reinstall the current version of Child Control from our download page on the child PC. When reinstalling, all settings will be applied (if desired). In the Users screen, make sure that all relevant users are checked. If the Windows users are not listed in the following overview, you may have to log on and off the corresponding account once in Windows.




Also make sure that you have set a strong password for users who are not checked in Windows. This prevents children from simply using a different (not monitored) account. Another tip: To prevent children with admin rights from creating a new user and thus possibly bypassing Child Control, you can specify that new users are not allowed in the Web Portal under Settings in the Options section. In this case, Child Control will immediately log off a new user in Windows.


Supporting Windows domains / Active Directories?

With a domain, the following special features must be observed: The software can be configured either with the domain accounts or with the local accounts. When configuring on a domain client, it is necessary to install and configure the program with domain admin rights.


We do not recommend installations in domains >50 users, because the reading and administration of the users can have a great impact on the performance of the program and the PC. In a local installation without domain (i.e. the program is not needed in the domain) the program can be installed locally as usual (important: log on locally). Please note that switching from domain logon to local logon can cause individual user accounts to "disappear" in the program (if, for example, a domain account is not available locally).

 

Summarized: In a domain the software "attracts" the domain users, in a local application the local users. If you switch between domain and local logon, you should create the respective user accounts twice (i.e. in domain AND(!) locally), otherwise users might be deleted again. Note: Child Control does not support Azure Active Directories (yet).


Reset Child Control

If for some reason Child Control no longer works or does not work properly, you can and should reset the program once. The following procedure only makes sense if Child Control has already worked correctly in the past, i.e. you have already successfully logged on to the Web Portal. If the installation never worked before, this procedure makes no sense. Please contact our support in this case. For a reset, please proceed exactly in the following order:

 

Log in to the Web Portal with your login name and select the PC in the top right corner on which it no longer works. If you want to use the settings again later, you can now save them under Settings -> Export. Please note that you have to repeat this step for each of the users on the corresponding PC (the export is always per user). Now delete this PC from the Web Portal under Settings -> Delete. After confirmation and an automatic logoff, download and install the program again on the child PC. Always use the latest version from our download area.


After a successful setup you will be asked to enter your password again. You will then be presented with the following screen to choose from:

 


 

Now select RESET to reset all locally stored data. This action can take up to 20 seconds. After that, enter your login name and the corresponding password again. After the successful installation you can log in to the Web Portal and read in any previously saved data for the respective user under Settings -> Import.

FAQ Windows Übersicht

Passwort vergessen?

Funktioniert nicht (mehr)?

Antivirus Einstellungen?

Webseite komisch angezeigt?

Webfilter funktioniert nicht?

Einstellungen nur im Internet?

Update-Meldung im Portal?

Schwarzer Screenshot?

Auch für Windows-Admins?

Mehrere PCs verwalten?

Meldung Systemzeit fehlerhaft?

Wie beschränke ich Minecraft?

Benutzer hinzufügen/löschen?

Gibt es Domänen Unterstützung?

Kindersicherung zurücksetzen?

Probleme E-Mail Empfang?



Funktioniert nicht (mehr)?

Falls das Programm nicht mehr richtig funktioniert und/oder Limits nicht eingehalten werden, gehen Sie bitte wie folgt vor: Starten Sie als erstes den Kinder-PC manuell neu. Prüfen Sie danach, ob das Icon der Kindersicherung noch rechts unten in der Taskleiste zu sehen ist. Bei einem Klick auf das Icon sollten die aktuellen Limits und die aktuell abgelaufene Zeit angezeigt werden. Das Ganze sollte dann in etwa so aussehen:


Prüfen Sie in diesem Bild, ob die abgelaufene Zeit und die angezeigten Limits dem entsprechen, was Ihnen auch im Web Portal angezeigt wird bzw. was Sie eingestellt haben. Prüfen Sie, ob der PC-Tag Zähler auch wirklich jede Minute hochgezählt wird. Ferner sollten Sie noch nachsehen, ob die Synchronisation korrekt funktioniert. Das Datum des letzten Sync finden Sie direkt auf dem Kinder-PC im obigen Info Bereich unter (linke Seite) "Details" und dann am unteren Bildschirmrand. Wird das Symbol in der Taskleiste nicht angezeigt (evtl. könnten Sie das absichtlich ausgeblendet haben) probieren Sie die Tastenkombination HOCHSTELL (SHIFT) + STRG + F6.


Erscheint auch hier kein Info Fenster sollten Sie die Kindersicherung neu von unserer Homepage downloaden und über Ihre vorhandene Version installieren. Den Download finden Sie immer auf unserer Download-Seite. Falls das alles nichts hilft, können Sie die Kindersicherung einmalig zurücksetzen. Mehr Infos zum Zurücksetzen im Kapitel Kindersicherung zurücksetzen. Eine weitere Ursache für Fehlfunktionen der Kindersicherung könnte auch ein installiertes Antivirenprogramm sein. Beachten Sie hierbei bitte das Kapitel Antivirus einrichten.

 

Manipulationsverdacht? Haben Sie den Verdacht, dass Kinder das Programm manipulieren, sollten Sie vor einer erneuten Installation sicherstellen, dass die Kinder-Benutzerkonten nicht über administrative Rechte verfügen. Stellen Sie ferner sicher, dass andere Admin-Benutzer (z.B. Sie als Eltern) das Windows-Benutzerkonto mit einem Passwort gesichert haben.


Antivirus Einstellungen

Wenn die Kindersicherung nicht (mehr) ordnungsgemäß funktioniert oder Synchronisationen ausbleiben, kann das durchaus an der installierten Antivirus bzw. Security-Lösung liegen. Bitte denken Sie daran, dass sowohl Antivirus-Programme wie auch unsere Kindersicherung automatisch Updates erhalten, d.h. es ist durchaus möglich, dass es vom einen auf den anderen Tag nicht mehr funktioniert. Nachfolgend einige Kurzanleitungen für bekannte Antiviren-Programme:

 

Bitdefender

Comodo

Eset/Nod32

G-DATA

Malwarebytes

 

Keine Probleme sind uns (zur Zeit!) mit folgenden Programmen bekannt: Avira, Avast, Kaspersky, McAffee

 

Wenn Ihr Antivirus Teile der Kindersicherung blockiert hat, sollte das normalerweise irgendwie in den Reports des Antivirus-Programms auftauchen. Prüfen Sie solche Reports auf die u.g. Datei-Namen. Bei den meisten Antivirus Programmen ist es nicht nur notwendig eine Firewall-Regel für die Kindersicherung anzulegen, auch muss festgelegt werden, dass die Kindersicherung nicht fälschlicherweise als Malware oder potentielle Gefahr erkannt wird. Das erreichen Sie in der Regel, indem Sie in Ihrem Antivirus-Programm die folgenden Dateien als Ausnahme aufnehmen:

 

c:\windows\cc\ctlsysui.exe

c:\windows\cc\ctlsysmgr.exe

c:\windows\cc\winctlsvc.exe

 

Für den Windows eigenen Antivirus Defender sowie die Windows Firewall sind keine Einstellungen notwendig. Sollte es bereits bei der Installation der Kindersicherung zu Problemen mit einem Antivirus-Programm kommen, reicht ein simples Deaktivieren des Antivirus normalerweise nicht aus (Treiber sind immer noch geladen). Bereits viele Kunden konnten das Problem lösen, indem Sie ihren Antivirus deinstalliert haben, danach den PC neu gestartet haben, dann erst die Kindersicherung und danach wieder das Antiviren-Programm installiert haben. Falls Sie über einen Router Internet-Beschränkungen gesetzt haben, stellen Sie sicher, dass der Kontakt zu folgenden Servern erlaubt ist: salfeld.net, sse.salfeld.net, portal.salfeld.net, sync.salfeld.net. Die verwendeten Ports sind 80 (http) und 443 (https).

 

Tipp: Wenn Sie Ihre Einstellungen vorgenommen haben und alles korrekt funktioniert, setzen Sie (sofern möglich) in Ihrem Firewall/Internet Security Programm ein Passwort. Dies verhindert, dass Dritte diese Einstellungen evtl. wieder zurücksetzen. Führen Sie nach allen Änderungen einmalig einen PC-Neustart durch.


Webseite komisch angezeigt?

Eine freigegebene Webseite funktioniert nicht richtig? Wenn Sie den Whitelist-Modus benutzen, sind nur Seiten erlaubt, welche Sie explizit unter "Zugelassen" freigegeben haben. Trotzdem kann es (und das passiert öfters) dazu kommen, dass die freigegebene Seite trotzdem nicht richtig funktioniert oder angezeigt wird.


Das liegt daran, dass viele Webseiten innerhalb Ihrer Webseite noch auf andere Domains zurückgreifen (die dann gesperrt sind). Beispiel: Sie geben als Eltern die Kinderseite tivi.de frei. Trotzdem kann das Kind dort die Videos nicht anschauen (es kommt nur eine seltsame Fehlermeldung). Der Grund liegt darin, dass die Videos auf der (anderen) Domain zdf.de liegen, welche unbedingt auch noch freigeschaltet sein muss. Wenn eine Seite nicht korrekt dargestellt wird, hilft fast immer die folgende Vorgehensweise:


Ziehen Sie das Protokoll zu rate und prüfen Sie den Zeitraum unter Verlauf Blockiert. Schalten Sie dort alle blockierten Einträge frei und probieren Sie den Aufruf der Webseite erneut. Sollten es trotz dieser Hinweise nicht gelingen, kontaktieren Sie uns mit Angabe der freigeschalteten Domain ,wir helfen gerne weiter!


Webfilter funktioniert nicht?

Falls der Webfilter der Kindersicherung gar nicht funktioniert, könnte das an einem installierten Antiviren-Programm liegen. Falls Sie ein anderes Antiviren-Programm als den (eingebauten) Defender nutzen, finden Sie unter der FAQ Antivirus konfigurieren erste Informationen.  Bitte prüfen Sie weiterhin folgende Voraussetzungen: Sind die verwendeten Browser (z.B. chrome.exe, firefox.exe, microsoftedge.exe) unter Web Portal -> Programme -> Gruppe Internet eingetragen? Nur auf Programme der Gruppe Internet wird der Webfilter angewendet. Falls das alles passt, rufen Sie bitte im Browser die Seite http://blocktest.salfeld.net auf um die eigentliche Funktionsweise des Webfilters zu prüfen. Denken Sie bitte auch daran, dass die Kindersicherung nur aktive Verbindungen filtert. Ist eine Webseite bereits komplett im Browser-Cache, wird diese nicht mehr überprüft. Löschen Sie in diesem Fall den Browser Cache manuell. Wird ein Stichwort (Keyword) nicht korrekt gefiltert, denken Sie bitte daran, dass dieser Filter nicht auf Seiten funktioniert, die Sie explizit unter Web Filter -> Zugelassen eingetragen haben. In seltenen Fällen haben auch schon ausstehende Windows-Updates zu einem Fehlverhalten des Webfilters geführt. Stellen Sie daher in Windows sicher, dass Sie die aktuellste Windows Version nutzen und starten Sie auch einmalig den Kinder-PC neu.


Einstellungen nur im Internet?

Die Kindersicherung installieren Sie einmalig auf dem PC des Kindes. Direkt auf dem PC wird eine Datenbank angelegt und die von Ihnen festgelegten Limits (z.B. Zeitlimits oder Webfilter) werden überwacht. Ebenfalls ist das (zeitweise) Ausschalten der Kindersicherung sowie das Setzen von Verlängerungen (durch Passwort oder TAN) direkt am jeweiligen Kinder-PC möglich, ohne dass dazu eine Internet Verbindung bestehen muss. Alle restlichen Einstellungen nehmen Sie im Internet in unserem Web Portal vor. Für Sie hat das den Vorteil, dass Sie von jedem Ort und jedem Internet Gerät auf die Einstellungen zugreifen können, ohne dabei das Kind am Kinder-PC stören zu müssen. Für uns hat das den Vorteil, dass wir Verbesserungen im Gegensatz zu früher viel schneller umsetzen können (da wird nicht mehr zwei verschiedene Benutzer-Oberflächen anpassen müssen).


Die Einstellungen im Web Portal synchronisieren sich mit den Einstellungen direkt auf dem Kinder-PC in regelmäßigen kurzen Abständen (<5 Minuten). Sowohl im Web Portal (auf der Start Seite) als auch auf dem Kinder-PC (Klick aufs Icon, dann links auf Details) sehen Sie den Zeitpunkt der letzten erfolgreichen Synchronisation.


Update-Meldung im Portal

Die Kindersicherung wird durch uns regelmäßig aktualisiert, d.h. es erscheinen mehrmals im Jahr neue Versionen. Hier beheben wir Fehler oder fügen neue Funktionen hinzu. Es ist wichtig, dass auf den Kinder-PCs stets die aktuelle Version installiert ist. Im Normalfall müssen Sie dafür nichts weiter tun.



Die Kindersicherung lädt und installiert aktuelle Versionen im Hintergrund. Sollte trotzdem der Warnhinweis im Web Portal angezeigt werden, können Sie auch jederzeit die aktuelle Version von unserer Homepage über Ihre bereits vorhandene Version installieren. Alle Daten bleiben dabei erhalten. Den Download finden Sie immer hier: https://salfeld.de/download/


Schwarzer Screenshot

Falls anstelle des Screenshots ein schwarzes Bild erscheint, kann das folgende Ursache haben: Hier spricht ein Programm auf dem Kinder-PC (z.B. Video-Abspielprogramm oder 3D-Spiel) direkt die Grafikkarte an und benutzt dabei nicht Windows-Standard-Grafikroutinen. Unter diesen Bedingungen kann von der Kindersicherung leider kein Screenshot erstellt werden (bzw. es wird nur ein schwarzer Bildschirm angezeigt). Die Grafik-Hardwarebeschleunigung können Sie in den Systemeinstellungen von Windows abschalten (nicht empfohlen). Dann erhalten Sie zwar einen Screenshot, Videos und 3D-Spiele könnten aber stark "ruckeln" bzw. verlangsamt dargestellt werden.


Auch für Windows-Admins geeignet?

Ja, auch für Administrator-Konten können die verschiedensten Einstellungen und Beschränkungen in der Kindersicherung gesetzt werden. Auch greifen für Admin-Konten bei installierter Kindersicherung einige Beschränkungen: So ist es auch administrativen Benutzern nicht möglich, einfach die Prozesse der Kindersicherung zu stoppen (auch nicht mit alternativen Task-Managern). Trotz aller dieser Massnahmen ist die Angriffsfläche für Manipulationen bei einem Admin-Konto wesentlich höher. Wir empfehlen daher, dem Kind keine administrativen Rechte einzuräumen und vorhandene Admin-Konten unbedingt in Windows mit einem Passwort zu versehen.


Mehrere PCs verwalten

Sie können mit ein und demselben Fernsteuerungs-Login auch mehrere PCs kontrollieren. Wichtig ist, dass Sie auf allen PCs exakt die gleichen Daten eingegeben haben (Benutzername und Passwort). Falls Sie mehrere PCs mit der Kindersicherung betreiben und diese alle mit dem gleichen Benutzerkonto online verwalten möchten, stellen Sie sicher, dass auf jeden der Kinder-PCs der gleiche Benutzername (E-Mail eingetragen ist). Eine Änderung des Benutzernamens ist nur durch eine erneute Installation und ein Zurücksetzen (RESET) der Einstellungen möglich. Vor diesem Schritt empfehlen wir, evtl. vorhandene Einstellungen zu sichern. Siehe auch Import und Export von Einstellungen.


Meldung Systemzeit fehlerhaft

Die Kindersicherung ist darauf angewiesen, dass sowohl Datum als auch Uhrzeit wie auch Zeitzone auf dem Kindergerät korrekt eingestellt sind. Das ist notwendig, damit Zeitlimits richtig funktionieren und Sperrzeiten eingehalten werden. Manipulationen am Datum sind bei den Kids beliebte Tricks, um die Kindersicherung zu umgehen. Entdeckt die Kindersicherung ein „falsches“ System-Datum oder -Uhrzeit, wird Ihnen im Web Portal eine entsprechende Warnmeldung angezeigt. Auch wenn Änderungen am Datum zu 90% auf die Kids zurückzuführen sind: auch schlechte Akkus und defekte Hardware können in Einzelfällen zu einer Fehlfunktion der Systemzeit führen.

 


Auf Windows PCs können nur administrative Benutzer Änderungen an der Systemzeit vornehmen. Sollte das Kind also nur über ein Standardkonto verfügen, brauchen Sie keine weiteren Schutz-Maßnahmen ergreifen. Bei Kindern mit Admin-Benutzer Rechten, können Sie Änderungen am Datum und der Uhrzeit über das Web Portal -> Sicherheit -> Windows-Sicherheit -> Keine Datum/Uhrzeit Einstellungen verhindern. Denken Sie bei dem PC bitte daran, dass ein falsches Datum auch bereits im BIOS des Rechners gesetzt werden kann. Das BIOS liegt außerhalb von Windows und dem Einflussbereich irgendeiner Software – hier hilft es nur, direkt das BIOS mit einem Kennwort zu schützen (was in den allermeisten Fällen möglich ist). Denken Sie daran, dass eine verstellte Systemzeit zu seltsamen Reporten, evtl. auch noch in der Zukunft (falls das Datum vorgestellt wurde) führen kann. Wir empfehlen bei einem falschen Systemdatum die bereits gezählten Zeiten zurückzusetzen.

 

Wichtig! Die Meldung wird nicht automatisch ausgeblendet, auch wenn das Datum evtl. wieder korrekt ist. So erkennen Sie auch nachträglich eine Manipulation. Wenn das Datum auf dem Kinder-Gerät korrekt ist, können Sie die Meldung mit dem "x" in der oberen rechten Ecke ausblenden.


Minecraft beschränken

Wenn Sie Minecraft beschränken möchten, fügen Sie im Bereich Programm Filter einfach die minecraft.exe mit einem Zeitlimit Ihrer Wahl hinzu.  Dieses Zeitlimit wird durchgesetzt, egal ob Minecraft als Desktop-Anwendung oder innerhalb des Browsers gespielt wird. Durch die spezielle Erkennung von Minecraft kann es in Ausnahmefällen dazu kommen, dass das Spiel erst mal startet (wird dann aber innerhalb von 30 Sekunden beendet).


Benutzer hinzufügen/löschen?

Die Benutzerverwaltung schließt sich in der Windows-Version nahtlos an die Windows-Benutzerkonten an (sowohl lokale als auch Microsoft-Konten). In der Kindersicherung selbst legen Sie keine Benutzer an. Das Programm erkennt alle auf dem Windows-PC installierten Benutzerkonten. Wird ein neues Benutzerkonto hinzugefügt, taucht dieses normalerweise automatisch im Web Portal auf. Möchten Sie explizit einen Benutzer dem Web Portal hinzufügen (oder auch löschen), dann gehen Sie bitte wie folgt vor: Downloaden und installieren Sie die aktuelle Version der Kindersicherung von unserer Download-Seite erneut auf dem Kinder-PC. Bei einer erneuten Installation werden (auf Wunsch) alle Einstellungen übernommen. Stellen Sie im Bildschirm Benutzer sicher, dass alle relevanten Benutzer angekreuzt sind. Sollte in der nachfolgenden Übersicht der Windows-Benutzer fehlen, müssen Sie das entsprechende Konto evtl. zuerst einmalig in Windows an- und auch wieder abmelden.



Stellen Sie ferner sicher, dass Sie für nicht angekreuzte Benutzer in Windows ein starkes Passwort gesetzt haben. Dies verhindert, dass die Kinder nicht einfach ein anderes (nicht überwachtes Konto) benutzen. Noch ein Tipp: Um zu verhindern, dass Kinder mit Admin-Rechten einen neuen Benutzer anlegen und so die Kindersicherung evtl. umgehen, können Sie im Web Portal unter Einstellungen bei den Optionen festlegen, dass neue Benutzer nicht erlaubt sind. In diesem Fall meldet die Kindersicherung einen neuen Benutzer gleich wieder in Windows ab.


Domänen Unterstützung

Bei einer Domäne gilt es folgende Besonderheiten zu beachten: Die Software kann entweder mit den Domänenkonten oder mit den lokalen Konten konfiguriert werden. Bei einer Konfiguration auf einem Domänen-Client ist es erforderlich, dass das Programm mit Domänen-Admin Rechten installiert und konfiguriert wird.


Wir raten von Installationen in Domänen>50 Benutzern ab, da hier das Auslesen und Verwalten der Benutzer sehr auf die Performance des Programms und des PCs gehen kann. Bei einer lokalen Installation ohne Domäne (d.h. das Programm wird in der Domäne nicht benötigt) kann das Programm ganz normal lokal installiert werden (wichtig: melden Sie sich hierzu lokal an). Beachten Sie bitte, dass ein Wechsel von Domänenanmeldung zur lokalen Anmeldung zur Folge haben kann, dass einzelne Benutzerkonten im Programm "verschwinden" (falls z.B. ein Domänenkonto lokal nicht vorhanden ist).

 

Zusammengefasst: In einer Domäne "zieht" die Software die Domänenbenutzer an, bei einer lokalen Anwendung die lokalen Benutzer. Wenn zwischen Domäne und lokaler Anmeldung gewechselt wird, sollten Sie die betreffenden Benutzerkonten doppelt (d.h. in Domäne UND(!) lokal anlegen), da sonst evtl. Benutzer wieder gelöscht werden.


Kindersicherung zurücksetzen

Funktioniert die Kindersicherung aus einem Grund nicht mehr oder nicht mehr richtig, können und sollten Sie das Programm einmalig zurücksetzen. Die nachfolgende Vorgehensweise macht nur Sinn, wenn die Kindersicherung in der Vergangenheit bereits einmal korrekt funktioniert hat, d.h. Sie sich bereits erfolgreich am Web Portal anmelden konnten. Hat die Installation noch nie geklappt, macht diese Vorgehensweise keinen Sinn. Kontaktieren Sie dann bitte unseren Support. Für ein Zurücksetzen gehen Sie bitte genau in der folgenden Reihenfolge vor:

 

Melden Sie sich im Web Portal mit Ihrem Loginnamen an und wählen Sie oben rechts den PC aus, auf dem es nicht mehr funktioniert. Wenn Sie Einstellungen später wieder verwenden möchten, können Sie diese nun unter Einstellungen -> Export sichern. Achten Sie darauf, dass Sie diesen Schritt für jeden der Benutzer auf dem entsprechenden PC wiederholen müssen (der Export gilt immer pro Benutzer). Löschen Sie nun diesen PC aus dem Web Portal unter Einstellungen -> Löschen. Nach der Bestätigung und einer automatischen Abmeldung downloaden und installieren Sie das Programm auf dem Kinder-PC erneut. Verwenden Sie dazu stets die aktuellste Version aus unserem Download Bereich.


Nach einem erfolgreichen Setup werden Sie nochmal aufgefordert, Ihr Kennwort einzugeben. Danach erhalten Sie folgenden Bildschirm zur Auswahl:

 

 

Wählen Sie hier nun RESET um alle lokal gespeicherten Daten zurückzusetzen. Diese Aktion kann bis zu 20 Sekunden dauern. Danach geben Sie erneut Ihren Loginnamen und das dazugehörige Passwort an. Nach der erfolgreichen Installation können Sie sich am Web Portal anmelden und evtl. früher gespeicherte Daten für den jeweiligen Benutzer unter Einstellungen -> Import wieder einlesen.